

The Senate: Membership as at 1 June 2024

The President & Vice-Chancellor

Professor Koen Lamberts

The Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Professor Robert Mokaya OBE

The Vice-Presidents

Education Professor Mary Vincent
Research & Innovation Professor Sue Hartley OBE

Vice-Presidents & Heads of the:

Advanced Manufacturing Group Professor Geraint Jewell
Faculty of Arts & Humanities Professor Susan Fitzmaurice
Faculty of Engineering Professor Conchúr Ó Brádaigh
Faculty of Haalth

Faculty of Health Professor Ashley Blom
Faculty of Science Professor John Derrick
Faculty of Social Sciences Professor Ruth Blakeley

Faculty Directors of Education

Faculty of Arts & Humanities Dr Caoimhe Nic Dháibhéid¹

Faculty of Engineering Professor Matt Carré
Faculty of Health Dr Vanessa Halliday

Faculty of Science Professor Louise Robson (Interim)

Faculty of Social Sciences Professor Graham Gee

Faculty Directors of Research & Innovation

Faculty of Arts & Humanities Professor Nikki Dibben

Faculty of Engineering Professor Mark Dickman (Interim)

Faculty of Health Professor Paul Hatton
Faculty of Science Professor Andrew Fleming

Faculty of Social Sciences Professor David Robinson (Interim)

Chairs of Senate Committees who are not otherwise members

Chair of the Senate University Research Ethics Committee: Dr Jennifer Burr (School of Medicine & Population Health)

¹ The FDE for Arts & Humanities for 2023-24 is also an elected member of the Senate until 2025.

Heads of Departments nominated by Faculty on an annual basis (2023-24)

Faculty of Arts & Humanities

School of East Asian Studies Professor Kate Taylor-Jones
School of English Professor Jane Hodson

Faculty of Engineering

Automatic Control & Systems Engineering Professor George Panoutsos
Chemical & Biological Engineering Professor Joan Cordiner
Civil & Structural Engineering Professor Martin Mayfield
Electronic & Electrical Engineering Professor Chee Hing Tan

Materials Science & Engineering Professor Nicola Morley (Interim)

Mechanical Engineering Professor Lizzy Cross

Faculty of Health²

Division of Neuroscience Professor Arshad Majid
Division of Population Health Dr Louise Preston
School of Allied Health Professions, Nursing & Midwifery
School of Clinical Dentistry Professor Dan Lambert (Interim)

School of Medicine & Population Health Professor Mark Strong

Faculty of Science

School of Biosciences

Physics & Astronomy

Psychology

Dr Chris Martin

School of Mathematics & Statistics Professor Jeremy Oakley

Faculty of Social Sciences

Landscape Architecture Professor Helen Woolley
Law Professor Richard Kirkham
Management School Professor Rachael Finn
Politics & International Relations Professor Charlotte Burns
School of Education Professor Rebecca Lawthom

Sheffield Methods Institute Professor Kate Reed

Extra-Faculty

AMRC Training Centre Nikki Jones

Lifelong Learning Professor Willy Kitchen

Chief Operating Officer

Rob Sykes

University Librarian

Anna Clements

² The Faculty of Health has an allocation of five representatives in this category for 2023-24, as per paragraph 2.1.6 of Regulation IX. This includes the Deans of the three Schools in the Faculty, along with two Division Heads, as per paragraph 2.1.10 of Regulation IX.

Elected representatives of staff in Grade 7 & above

For the period until 2026

Professor Peter Bath Faculty of Social Sciences
Professor Laurence Brooks Faculty of Social Sciences

Dr Charlotte Codina Faculty of Health
Dr Tim Cooper Professional Services
Dr Laura Gray Faculty of Health
Dr Sarah Hale Extra-Faculty

Professor Russell Hand Faculty of Engineering

Tom Hodgson Extra-Faculty

Professor Visakan Kadirkamanathan Faculty of Engineering
Dr Inge Kersbergen Faculty of Health

Dr Nicky Stubbs Faculty of Social Sciences
Charlotte Williams Professional Services

For the period until 2025

Dan Barcroft Professional Services
Professor Stephen Beck Faculty of Engineering
Professor Briony Birdi Faculty of Social Sciences
Professor John Flint Faculty of Social Sciences

Steve Foxley Extra-Faculty

Professor Matthew Gilbert Faculty of Engineering
Dr Sam Marsh Faculty of Science
Professor Matt Marshall Faculty of Engineering
Professor Cheryl Miller Faculty of Health
Professor David Mowbray Faculty of Science

Dr Caoimhe Nic Dháibhéid Faculty of Arts & Humanities
Dr Siobhán North Faculty of Engineering
Professor Simon Rushton Faculty of Social Sciences

Dr Neil Walkinshaw Faculty of Engineering

For the period until 2024

Professor Sumon Bhaumik Faculty of Social Sciences
Professor Caitlin Buck Faculty of Science

Dr Joshua Forstenzer Faculty of Arts & Humanities

Matt Jones Professional Services
Professor Janine Kirby Faculty of Health

Dr Ben Purvis Faculty of Social Sciences

Six Student Officers

Students' Union President Lily Byrne (2023-24)

Students' Union Education Officer Maria Lourido Moreno (2023-24)

Students' Union representative Tomás Rocha (Liberation Officer) (2023-24)

Students' Union representative Nana Musa (2022-24)
Students' Union representative Heather Sadig (2022-24)

Students' Union representative TBC

The Secretary to the Senate

Jeannette Strachan (The University Secretary)