The Senate: Constitution and Membership at 1 May 2019

President & Vice-Chancellor

Professor Koen Lamberts

Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Professor Gill Valentine

Vice-Presidents

Education	Professor Wyn Morgan
Research & Innovation	Professor Dave Petley

Vice-Presidents & Heads of Faculty

Faculty of Arts & Humanities	Professor Susan Fitzmaurice (Interim)
Faculty of Engineering	Professor Mike Hounslow
Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health	Professor Dame Pamela Shaw
Faculty of Science	Professor John Derrick (Interim)
Faculty of Social Sciences	Professor Craig Watkins (Interim)

Deputy Vice-Presidents

Education	Professor Jackie Marsh
Education	Professor Brendan Stone
Research & Innovation	Professor John Derrick
Research & Innovation (Postgraduate Research)	Professor Lorraine Maltby

Faculty Directors of Learning & Teaching

Faculty of Arts & Humanities	Dr David Forrest
Faculty of Engineering	Professor Rachel Horn
Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health	Dr Adrian Jowett
Faculty of Science	Dr Luke Wilson
Faculty of Social Sciences	Professor Jackie Marsh

Faculty Directors of Research & Innovation

Faculty of Arts & Humanities	Professor Nicola Dibben
Faculty of Engineering	Professor John Haycock
Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health	Professor Wendy Baird
Faculty of Science	Professor Simon Foster
Faculty of Social Sciences	Professor John Flint

Cross-cutting Directors

Professor Marie Kinsey (Digital Learning)
Dr Bob McKay (Student Engagement)
Dr Christopher Stokes (Digital Learning)
Professor Brendan Stone (Outward-facing)

The Principal of City College

Mr Yiannis Ververidis	

Chairs of Committees who are not otherwise members

Professor Richard Jackson

Heads or Acting Heads of Departments entitled to ex-officio membership of the Senate

Animal & Plant Sciences	Professor Rob Freckleton	Until 31 Aug 2022
Archaeology	Professor Caroline Jackson	Until 31 Aug 2022
Architecture	Professor Karim Hadjri	Until 31 Aug 2021
Automatic Control & Systems	Professor Daniel Coca	Until 31 Aug 2022
Engineering	Frotessor Damer Coca	Until of Aug 2022
Biomedical Science	Professor Kathryn Ayscough	Until 31 Aug 2020
Chemical & Biological Engineering	Professor Jim Litster	Until 31 Aug 2020
Chemistry	Professor Graham Leggett	Until 31 Jul 2022
Civil & Structural Engineering	Professor Joby Boxall	Until 31 Aug 2021
School of Clinical Dentistry	Professor Chris Deery	Until 31 Aug 2019
Computer Science	Professor Guy Brown	Until 31 Aug 2019
School of East Asian Studies		
Economics	Professor Hugo Dobson	Until 31 Aug 2019
	Professor Peter Wright Professor Elizabeth Wood	Until 31 Aug 2019
School of Education		Until 31 Aug 2020
Electronic & Electrical Engineering	Professor Chee Hing Tan	Until 31 Aug 2023
School of English	Professor Joe Bray	Until 31 Aug 2022
Geography	Professor David Robinson	Until 31 Aug 2021
History	Professor Adrian Bingham	Until 31 Aug 2022
Human Communication Sciences	Professor Patricia Cowell	Until 31 Aug 2019
Infection, Immunity &	Professor Tim Chico	Until 31 Aug 2022
Cardiovascular Disease		
Information School	Professor Peter Bath	Until 31 Aug 2019
Journalism Studies	Professor Jacqueline Harrison	Until 31 Aug 2021
Landscape Architecture	Professor Anna Jorgensen	Until 31 Aug 2022
School of Languages & Cultures	Professor Jan Windebank	Until 31 Aug 2022
Law	Professor Graham Gee	Until 31 Aug 2022
Lifelong Learning	Dr Willy Kitchen	From 12 Oct 2015
Management School	Professor David Oglethorpe	Dean from 1 Apr 2013
Materials Science & Engineering	Professor Derek Sinclair (Interim)	Until 31 Aug 2019
School of Mathematics & Statistics	Professor Nick Monk	Until 31 Dec 2021
Mechanical Engineering	Professor Neil Sims	Until 31 Aug 2022
Medical School	Professor Deborah Murdoch-	Dean from 1 Sep 2013
	Eaton	
Molecular Biology & Biotechnology	Professor Mike Williamson	Until 31 May 2021
Music	Dr Simon Keegan-Phipps	Until 31 Aug 2022
Neuroscience	Professor Christopher	Until 31 Aug 2022
	McDermott	
Nursing & Midwifery	Professor Tracey Moore	Until 31 Aug 2019
Oncology & Metabolism	Professor Allan Pacey	Until 31 Aug 2021
Philosophy	Professor Rosanna Keefe	Until 31 Aug 2019
Physics & Astronomy	Professor Paul Crowther	Until 31 Dec 2021
Politics	Professor Andy Hindmoor	Until 31 Aug 2020
Psychology	Professor Glenn Waller	Until 31 Aug 2020
School of Health & Related	Professor John Brazier	Until 31 Mar 2021
Research		
Sheffield Methods Institute	Professor Andy Dickerson	Until 31 Aug 2020
Sociological Studies	Professor Kate Nathan Hughes	Until 30 Apr 2022
Urban Studies & Planning	Professor Malcolm Tait	Until 31 Aug 2020

The Vice-Principals of City College

Dr Megaklis Petmezas	
Professor Panayiotis Ketikidis	
Professor Petros Kefalas	

The Librarian

Mrs Anne Horn

Elected representatives of staff in Grade 8 & above

For the period until 2021

Mr Mick Ashman	Mrs Alison Little
Mr Chris Baker	Dr Sam Marsh
Professor Stephen Beck	Mrs Fran Mason
Dr Alex Best	Mr John McAuley
Dr Nina Cardinal	Ms Michelle Nolan
Dr Hannah Fairbrother	Mrs Zoe Ollerenshaw
Dr Jonathan Foster	Dr Sarah Pollington
Dr Jo Grady	Dr Stefanie Pukallus
Ms Nikki Jones	Mrs Lucy Thorp
Dr Daniel Lee	Professor Mary Vincent
Miss Kirsty Lindley	Dr Lorna Warren

For the period until 2020

Mr Chris Blackmore	Ms Catherine McKeown
Mr Gareth Bramley	Professor Roger K Moore
Professor Terry Burke	Dr Craig Murdoch
Mrs Liz Carlile	Miss Emma Packham
Ms Joanna Coley	Dr Alison Patrick
Ms Emma Cordell	Mr David Reid
Dr Julie Dickinson	Mr Richard Simpson
Professor Alison Gartland	Professor Mike Siva-Jothy
Professor Barry Gibson	Mrs Joan Upson
Dr Paula Gould	Professor Stephen Walters
Professor David Hornby	Mr David Whittaker
Ms Helen Johnstone	Professor Nicholas Williams
Dr Janine Kirby	Professor Mike Williamson
Mrs Jo Marriott	

For the period until 2019

Mrs Emma Bingham	Dr Siobhán North
Dr Lindsay Blank	Dr Camilla Priede
Professor Craig Brandist	Mr Martin Rapier
Professor Caitlin Buck	Mr Rob Sykes
Dr Claire Conway	Mrs Nicola Talbot
Professor Susan Fitzmaurice	Professor Robert von Fay-Siebenburgen
Professor Tamara Hervey	Dr Sarah Want
Dr Emma Hock	Dr Seán Williams
Mr Nick Hopwood	Dr Luke Wilson

Five student officers

President	Ms Lilian Jones
Education Officer	Ms Anna Crump Raiswell
International Students' Officer	Ms Roxanne Bechu
Welfare Officer	Ms Katharine Swindells
Women's Officer	Ms Mayeda Tayyab

An elected student member from each Faculty

Arts & Humanities	Mr Callum Sweet
Engineering	Miss Aoife Campbell
Medicine, Dentistry & Health	Dr Aziz Mert Ipekci
Science	Mr Josh Glicklich
Social Sciences	Mr Chujie Wang

Two postgraduate student representatives

Postgraduate Research	Mr George Bowley
Postgraduate Taught	Miss Sirui Chen

One mature student

Mr Jamie Huddlestone

Secretary to the Senate

Dr Tony Strike (University Secretary)